Advertisement
ism raceway AP Photo/Ralph Freso

Attention, NASCAR fans. If you’re trying to get your racing fix, you’ll have to wait until May. Thanks a lot, coronavirus.

As part of the CDC’s recommendation to postpone gatherings for the next eight weeks because of the COVID-19 pandemic, NASCAR has officially suspended all race events through May 3.

“The health and safety of our fans, industry and the communities in which we race is our most important priority, so in accordance with recent CDC guidance, NASCAR is currently postponing all race events through May 3rd, with plans to return racing in Martinsville,” reads an official NASCAR statement.

“We appreciate the patience of our fans and we look forward to returning to the race track. We intend to hold all 36 races this season, with future rescheduling soon to be determined as we continue to monitor this situation closely with public health officials and medical experts. What is important now transcends the world of sports and our focus is on everyone’s safety and well-being as we navigate this challenging time together.”

NASCAR President Steve Phelps also wrote a letter addressed to fans following the news of the postponed season.

Postponed NASCAR Races

A total of seven Cup Series races have been postponed. So far, there have been no cancellations, and the races should take place at a later date.

  • Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway (March 15)
  • Dixie Vodka 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway (March 22)
  • O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 at Texas Motor Speedway (March 29)
  • Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway (April 5)
  • Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond Raceway (April 19)
  • Geico 500 at Talladega Superspeedway (April 26)
  • Cup Series Race at Dover International Speedway (May 3)

Read More: Dale Earnhardt Jr. Is Returning to NASCAR for One Race in 2020

Advertisement

Updated 2020 NASCAR Cup Series Schedule

Date/Race Name (If Available)/Location/Network/Start Time (ET)

  • Sun., Mar. 15 — Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 — Atlanta Motor Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., Mar. 22 — Dixie Vodka 400 — Homestead-Miami Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., Mar. 29 — O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 — Texas Motor Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., Apr. 5 — Food City 500 — Bristol Motor Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., Apr. 19 — Toyota Owners 400 — Richmond Raceway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., Apr. 26 — Geico 500 — Talladega Superspeedway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., May 3 — Dover International Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sat., May 9 — Martinsville Speedway — FS1 — 8:00 p.m.
  • Sat., May 16 — All-Star Open — Charlotte Motor Speedway — FS1 — 7:00 p.m.
  • Sat., May 16 — All-Star Race — Charlotte Motor Speedway — FS1 — 9:00 p.m.
  • Sun., May 24 — Coca-Cola 600 — Charlotte Motor Speedway — FOX — 6:00 p.m.
  • Sun., May 31 — Kansas 400 — Kansas Speedway — FS1 — 2:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Jun. 7 — FireKeepers Casino 400 — Michigan International Speedway — FS1 — 2:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Jun. 14 — Toyota Save Mart 350 — Sonoma Raceway — FS1 — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Jun. 21 — Chicagoland 400 — Chicagoland Speedway — NBCSN — 2:30 p.m.
  • Sat., Jun. 27 — Kids Free 325 — Pocono Raceway — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Jun. 28 — Worry-Free Weather Guarantee 350 — Pocono Raceway — NBCSN — 3:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Jul. 5 — Big Machine Vodka 400 — Indianapolis Motor Speedway — NBC — 3:30 p.m.
  • Sat., Jul. 11 — Quaker State 400 Presented by Walmart — Kentucky Speedway — NBCSN — 7:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Jul. 19 — Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 — New Hampshire Motor Speedway — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Aug. 9 — Consumers Energy 400 — Michigan International Speedway — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Aug. 16 — Go Bowling at The Glen/Watkins Glen International — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Aug. 23 — Drydene 400 — Dover International Speedway — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sat., Aug. 29 — Coke Zero Sugar 400 — Daytona International Speedway — NBC — 7:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Sept. 6 — Southern 500 — Darlington Raceway — NBCSN — 6:00 p.m.
  • Sat., Sept. 12 — Federated Auto Parts 400 — Richmond Raceway — NBCSN — 7:30 p.m.
  • Sat., Sept. 19 — Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race — Bristol Motor Speedway — NBCSN — 7:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Sept. 27 — South Point 400 — Las Vegas Motor Speedway/NBCSN/7:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Oct. 4 — Alabama 500 — Talladega Superspeedway — NBC — 2:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Oct. 11 — Bank of America ROVAL 400 — Charlotte Motor Speedway — NBC — 2:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Oct. 18 — Hollywood Casino 400 — Kansas Speedway — NBC — 2:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Oct. 25 — Texas 500 — Texas Motor Speedway — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Nov. 1 — Martinsville Speedway — NBC — 2:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Nov. 8 — NASCAR Cup Series Championship — Phoenix Raceway — NBC — 3:00 p.m.

WATCH: Plymouth Superbird: From NASCAR Race Car to Iconic Muscle Car

Advertisement
Author placeholder image About the author:

Stories You Might Like