Advertisement
NASCAR Returns on May 17: A Look at the Revised Schedule AP Photo/Scott Cunningham

NASCAR finally has an official return date!

On Thursday, April 30, the auto racing sanctioning body announced that the NASCAR schedule would commence on May 17, with the Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway in South Carolina. This will be the first of seven events in an 11-day stretch across the Cup Series, Xfinity Series, and Truck Series.

“It’s a big factor in terms of getting it right,” said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR’s executive vice president and chief racing development officer, according to NASCAR.com. “We realize up front it’s a huge responsibility for us as a sport. But I’m also confident in the group we’ve gathered to put this plan together. Our entire industry has come together to believe in the plan we’ve put together.

“We’re certainly going to learn as we go. But the process we put in place I think gives the industry the confidence that we can be first, we can do this in Darlington.”

As NASCAR begins the move towards business as usual, safety is still a major concern, while the nation still grapples with the coronavirus pandemic. No fans will be in attendance for the foreseeable future, and there will be no practice or qualifying runs.

“Events are going to look different than they have in the past,” said John Bobo, vice president of racing operations. “The way we travel to the event, the way we enter the event, move about in the event, the way we leave an event is going to be different.”

Following Thursday’s announcement, a number of NASCAR drivers took to Twitter to express their excitement over the news.

Advertisement

https://twitter.com/chaseelliott/status/125595450648078336

Read More: Dale Earnhardt Jr. Is Returning to NASCAR for One Race in 2020

Updated 2020 NASCAR Cup Series Schedule

Date/Race Name (If Available)/Location/Network/Start Time (ET)/Winner (If Past Race)

  • Sun., Feb. 16 — Daytona 500 — Daytona International Speedway — FOX — 2:30 p.m. — Denny Hamlin
  • Sun., Feb. 23 — Pennzoil 400 — Las Vegas Motor Speedway — FOX — 3:30 p.m. — Joey Logano
  • Sunday, Mar. 1 — Auto Club 400 — Auto Club Speedway — FOX — 3:30 p.m. — Alex Bowman
  • Sunday, Mar. 8 — FanShield 500 — Phoenix Raceway — FOX — 3:30 p.m. — Joey Logano
  • Sun., Mar. 15 — Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 — Atlanta Motor Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., Mar. 22 — Dixie Vodka 400 — Homestead-Miami Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., Mar. 29 — O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 — Texas Motor Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., Apr. 5 — Food City 500 — Bristol Motor Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., Apr. 19 — Toyota Owners 400 — Richmond Raceway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., Apr. 26 — Geico 500 — Talladega Superspeedway — POSTPONED
  • Sun., May 3 — Dover International Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sat., May 9 — Martinsville Speedway — POSTPONED
  • Sat., May 17 — Darlington Raceway — FS1 — 3:30 p.m.
  • Sat., May 20 — Darlington Raceway — FS1 — 7:30 p.m.
  • Sun., May 24 — Coca-Cola 600 — Charlotte Motor Speedway — FOX — 6:00 p.m.
  • Sun., May 31 — Kansas 400 — Kansas Speedway — FS1 — 2:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Jun. 7 — FireKeepers Casino 400 — Michigan International Speedway — FS1 — 2:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Jun. 14 — Toyota Save Mart 350 — Sonoma Raceway — FS1 — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Jun. 21 — Chicagoland 400 — Chicagoland Speedway — NBCSN — 2:30 p.m.
  • Sat., Jun. 27 — Kids Free 325 — Pocono Raceway — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Jun. 28 — Worry-Free Weather Guarantee 350 — Pocono Raceway — NBCSN — 3:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Jul. 5 — Big Machine Vodka 400 — Indianapolis Motor Speedway — NBC — 3:30 p.m.
  • Sat., Jul. 11 — Quaker State 400 Presented by Walmart — Kentucky Speedway — NBCSN — 7:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Jul. 19 — Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 — New Hampshire Motor Speedway — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Aug. 9 — Consumers Energy 400 — Michigan International Speedway — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Aug. 16 — Go Bowling at The Glen/Watkins Glen International — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Aug. 23 — Drydene 400 — Dover International Speedway — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sat., Aug. 29 — Coke Zero Sugar 400 — Daytona International Speedway — NBC — 7:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Sept. 6 — Southern 500 — Darlington Raceway — NBCSN — 6:00 p.m.
  • Sat., Sept. 12 — Federated Auto Parts 400 — Richmond Raceway — NBCSN — 7:30 p.m.
  • Sat., Sept. 19 — Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race — Bristol Motor Speedway — NBCSN — 7:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Sept. 27 — South Point 400 — Las Vegas Motor Speedway/NBCSN/7:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Oct. 4 — Alabama 500 — Talladega Superspeedway — NBC — 2:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Oct. 11 — Bank of America ROVAL 400 — Charlotte Motor Speedway — NBC — 2:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Oct. 18 — Hollywood Casino 400 — Kansas Speedway — NBC — 2:30 p.m.
  • Sun., Oct. 25 — Texas 500 — Texas Motor Speedway — NBCSN — 3:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Nov. 1 — Martinsville Speedway — NBC — 2:00 p.m.
  • Sun., Nov. 8 — NASCAR Cup Series Championship — Phoenix Raceway — NBC — 3:00 p.m.

WATCH: Plymouth Superbird: From NASCAR Race Car to Iconic Muscle Car

Advertisement
Author placeholder image About the author:

Stories You Might Like