DAYTONA BEACH, FL - FEBRUARY 19: Cars race during the weather delayed Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona International Speedway on February 19, 2017 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Sarah Crabill/Getty Images)

Only 17 of the 20 eligible drivers will be racing at the Clash this weekend


The Clash at Daytona won't have a full field on Sunday as 17 of the 20 eligible drivers will be competing in the event.

The trio of retired drivers won't participate in the Clash according to NBC Sports, including Dale Earnhardt Jr., Matt Kenseth and Danica Patrick -- though Patrick is racing in the Daytona 500.

Drivers must meet at least one of the criteria involved to qualify for the Clash. The criteria includes past winners of the event, drivers who won a pole in 2017, former Daytona 500 pole winners, and playoff drivers from 2018.

Related: Dale Jr. has an invitation to the Clash at Daytona, but one powerful voice is against it


Austin Dillon, Ryan Newman, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne and Jamie McMurray qualified due to making the playoffs a season ago.

Pole winners from 2017 include Brad Keselowski (2 poles), Kevin Harvick (4), Chase Elliott (1), Denny Hamlin (2), Ryan Blaney (2), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (1), Kyle Busch (8), Erik Jones (1), Martin Truex Jr. (3), Kyle Larson (3), Kurt Busch (1) and Joey Logano (2). Logano also won the Clash in 2017, so he automatically qualified for this year's event.

Harvick and Hamlin have three wins each at the event, which are the most of any active driver. Dale Earnhardt has the most wins all-time with six. Harvick, Hamlin, Dale Jarrett and Tony Stewart are tied for second with three wins each.

Two-time winners include Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Gordon, Ken Schrader and Neil Bonnett.


The 2018 Advanced Auto Parts Clash is set for Sunday, Feb. 11 at 3 p.m. ET at Daytona International Speedway.