Legendary racing team wins its third title of the year


They say things come in threes, and Roger Penske couldn't be more pleased with that.

This weekend, Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard captured the top two spots in Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia. The DJR Team Penske's V-Power Shell Racing Team locked up the V8 Supercars team championship over runner-up Red Bull Holden Racing Team. The seven previous championships in the series were won by the Holden team, according to autoweek.com.

RELATED: Team Penske is on a roll and announces it's getting more sponsorship dollars

McLaughlin controls his own destiny. If he can manage to finish 11th or better, he'll win his first ever title. If his top challenger, Jamie Whincup fails to win the race, McLaughlin can afford to slip a few spots. Whincup entered the weekend poised to win an astonishing seventh consecutive title, but after crashing on the first lap Saturday, he lost his top spot in the point standings.


In addition to the V8 Supercars championship, Team Penske also took home the Verizon IndyCar Series championship, as well as an owners' title in the NASCAR Xfinity Series. The Supercar championship is the first for Penske and it completed the hat trick for the owner.

RELATED: It will be impossible to miss this rising star in his new car for 2018

"We came into today thinking about what was at stake Saturday and Sunday, knowing that we had to really execute with both cars," Penske said, according to autoweek.com. "The good news is we've got one thing behind us and now Scotty will have to finish 11th or better for the drivers' and that's the focus."

"We've come a long way since we showed up here three years ago, and I think it's a credit to all the people and the sponsors that have supported the team," he said.