Ricky Stenhouse Jr. had already solidified himself in the playoff field earlier this season at Talladega, but he picked up his second win of the season in dramatic fashion at Daytona.

Stenhouse stole the lead from David Ragan on an overtime restart and led the final two laps of the race.

Related: Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s quest to win just one more Daytona takes a huge hit

A late crash involving Erik Jones, Denny Hamlin and Jamie McMurray sent the race into overtime.

Joey Logano, Austin Dillon, and Kevin Harvick—who won last week—were also eliminated after crashes.

Kyle Larson’s night came to an early end after he was involved in a crash that sent him airborne.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. didn’t finish the race either, and it was the fifth race this season he hasn’t finished.

Clint Bowyer finished second for the second straight week, and he was followed by Paul Menard, Michael McDowell, and Ryan Newman, respectively.

The next race is the Quaker State 400 on Saturday, July 8 at Kentucky Speedway.

Roush Fenway Racing driver wins at Daytona for his second win of the year Sarah Crabill/Getty Images
Cole Frederick About the author:
Cole Frederick is from a small town in Alabama, and he graduated from the University of Mississippi with a degree in journalism. He loves all sports - especially football and basketball - and quotes The Office frequently.
View More Articles

Engaging Car News, Reviews, and Content You Need to See - alt_driver Studio