The Super Bowl could be great news for one of these drivers Chris Trotman/Getty Images

A recent trend in the Super Bowl could serve as great news for a handful of NASCAR drivers.

The last three times the New England Patriots have played in the Super Bowl — win or lose — there was a first-time champion in NASCAR, according to Yahoo Sports.

Last year, after the Patriots defeated the Atlanta Falcons, Martin Truex Jr. won his first Cup Series title.

In 2015, after the Pats defeated the Seattle Seahawks, Kyle Busch won his first title.

In 2012, the Pats lost to the New York Giants. Later that year, Brad Keselowski won his first championship.

Related: It looks like NASCAR is going all in on one series to recruit new talent

The Patriots lost in the Super Bowl to the Philadelphia Eagles on Sunday, so if the trend continues this year, there are several drivers who could emerge with their first championship.

Chase Elliott, Kyle Larson, Denny Hamlin, Ryan Blaney and Joey Logano could all be contenders to win the title this year.

The last time the trend didn’t hold to form was in 2008 when the Giants beat the Pats. Jimmie Johnson won his third straight title that year. In 2005 when the Patriots beat the Eagles, Tony Stewart won his second title.

However, when the Pats beat the Panthers in 2004, Kurt Busch won his title. So, that means in the previous six times the Pats played in the Super Bowl in NASCAR’s playoff era, there was a first-time champion four times.

If another first-time champion is crowned this year, you can thank (or blame) the Patriots.

Cole Frederick About the author:
Cole Frederick is from a small town in Alabama, and he graduated from the University of Mississippi with a degree in journalism. He loves all sports - especially football and basketball - and quotes The Office frequently.
View More Articles

Engaging Car News, Reviews, and Content You Need to See - alt_driver Studio

Stories You Might Like