Four drivers were eliminated from the NASCAR postseason and 12 advanced to the next round during Kyle Busch’s victory at Dover International Speedway.

Those four drivers included Ryan Newman, Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne and Austin Dillon. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. was one of the closest drivers to being eliminated, but he earned points after a solid outing in the first stage of the race.

Related: Stage 1 winner at Dover surprisingly wasn’t a Toyota

Newman and Jeff Gordon were involved in a brief verbal exchange following the race, and Newman accused Gordon of being “a smartass” after Gordon said “thanks for the help” after the race.

Related: The Earnhardts just can’t figure out how to pit at Dover

It’s unclear what all led to those two bickering, but Newman was probably very displeased after being eliminated.

The 12 drivers moving on in order are Martin Truex Jr., Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Brad Keselowski, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott, Matt Kenseth and Jamie McMurray.

Elliott nearly had his first win of the season, but Kyle Busch darted by him in the final two laps for his second straight win.

The Round of 12 will consist of three races, starting on Sunday at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Any race winner in those three races will automatically advance to the Round of 8. The rest of the field will be determined based on points.

Truex and Busch likely have enough points to advance to the next round, but the rest of the field will need good showings at the three races to advance.

Here are the four drivers who were eliminated from the NASCAR playoffs Sean Gardner/Getty Images
Cole Frederick About the author:
Cole Frederick is from a small town in Alabama, and he graduated from the University of Mississippi with a degree in journalism. He loves all sports - especially football and basketball - and quotes The Office frequently.
View More Articles

Engaging Car News, Reviews, and Content You Need to See - alt_driver Studio

Stories You Might Like