Two dirt track racers were honored at the annual NASCAR Awards Banquet Chanute Sports/Twitter

Two of the top dirt track racers in NASCAR were honored at the NASCAR Awards Banquet at the Charlotte Convention Center.

Cody Jolly and Shane Collins both had excellent seasons in 2017, and they were presented with awards at the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Jolly won the NASCAR Whelen All-American Division II National Championship, and Collins finished fifth in the same division.

Jolly and Collins were the only two dirt track drivers to finish in the top five in points in either Division I or Division II. They represented Humboldt Speedway and Salina High Banks, according to

Related: Star racers couldn’t keep up with an American dirt track specialist

“It was fun racing with Shane,” Jolly said. “He is always tough and one of the top competitors at Humboldt. It was a great experience racing him. I know he’s raced for years and years.”

Collins said Jolly helped improve his own racing throughout the year.

“Obviously, (Jolly) was on top of his game,” Collins said. “He ran well all year and was always a clean driver. When you run against someone fast, it makes you faster.

“It’s because of racing against people like Riley Whitworth, Jolly, Jeran Frailey at Salina and Chris Hawkins at Salina, they make you better. It’s either get faster if you want to win or continue to run in the back.”

Jolly finished the year with 20 wins in 32 races, and he also had 24 top-5s and 29 top-10s. Collins won four races in 22 starts, and he had eight runner-up finishes.

Cole Frederick About the author:
Cole Frederick is from a small town in Alabama, and he graduated from the University of Mississippi with a degree in journalism. He loves all sports - especially football and basketball - and quotes The Office frequently.
View More Articles

Engaging Car News, Reviews, and Content You Need to See - alt_driver Studio

Stories You Might Like