Starting positions at this Daytona race will be determined in an unusual way Photo by Sarah Crabill/Getty Images
Photo by Sarah Crabill/Getty Images

Typically in racing, a starting lineup is decided by the best times run during qualifying. But at this year’s Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona, things will be a bit different.

The field will be decided by a blind draw the day before the actual race in the UNOH Fanzone. Crew chiefs will be assisted by young fans in drawing the positions. The draw is part of a fan event called Speedweeks Premiere at Daytona and will include autograph sessions with the drivers among other activities, according to NBC Sports.

RELATED: Here are the 20 drivers eligible for the Clash at Daytona

The blind draw will take place after the ARCA race, which is slated for earlier in the day on Feb. 10.

Last year’s winner was Joey Logano, who is one of 20 drivers eligible for the race. Three notable drivers are eligible but will not participate — Dale Earnhardt Jr., Matt Kenseth, and Danica Patrick.

The 2018 Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona International Speedway is set for 3 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 11.

A list of all other drivers that are eligible to participate in the Advance Auto Parts Clash are listed below courtesy of NBC Sports:

Ryan Blaney

Kurt Busch

Kyle Busch

Austin Dillon

Chase Elliott

Denny Hamlin

Kevin Harvick

Jimmie Johnson

Erik Jones

Kasey Kahne

Brad Keselowski

Kyle Larson

Joey Logano

Jamie McMurray

Ryan Newman

Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Martin Truex Jr.

Author placeholder image About the author:

Stories You Might Like