BRISTOL, TN - AUGUST 18: Matt Kenseth, driver of the #20 DEWALT/Flexvolt Toyota, talks to Jamie McMurray, driver of the #1 McDonalds/Cessna Chevrolet, during practice for the Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on August 18, 2017 in Bristol, Tennessee. (Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images)

NASCAR playoff field is set after Kyle Larson's win at Richmond

Kyle Larson's win at Richmond was bad news for winless drivers on the playoff bubble, and now the playoff field is set heading into next week's race Chicagoland.

Three winless drivers made the 16-car field, including Chase Elliott, Jamie McMurray and Matt Kenseth. Kenseth was fortunate considering he had to leave the race at Richmond after a collision.

Related: An errant ambulance caused utter chaos on the track at Richmond

McMurray was the last driver in the field, and Clint Bowyer was the first driver to miss the cut.

The 16 drivers who made the field in addition to Elliott, Kenseth and McMurray are Martin Truex Jr., Kyle Larson, Kyle Busch, Brad Keselowski, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ryan Blaney, Ryan Newman, Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne and Austin Dillon.

Larson and Truex finished with four wins each this year to lead all drivers.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. led briefly late and had a chance for his first win of the season in his last career regular season race, but he came up short.

The first race of the playoffs is Sunday, Sept. 17 at Chicagoland Speedway for the Tales of the Turtle 400 at 3 p.m. ET.