An insane number of drivers -- including 3 NASCAR champs -- have signed up for Snowball Derby


Now that the season is over, it's time for some fun on the track. And that means the annual running of the Snowball Derby at Five Flags Speedway.

This year won't be just any race. It's the 50th anniversary of the post-season spectacle in Pensacola, Florida that has drawn in years past some of the biggest names in racing. Recent winners of the race include Chase Elliott, Kyle Busch, and Erik Jones. reports over 60 drivers have entered this year's contest, coming from all over the U.S. and Canada to compete. While Elliott and Jones won't be in Sunday's lineup, 2015 Cup series champ Kyle Busch, Harrison Burton, and Bubba Pollard are hopefuls.

Johnny Sauter, 2016 Camping World Truck Series champion, and Harrison Burton, the reigning K&N East champion, have also filed entries.


Only the top 30 drivers qualify for the main race, although many will decide to run in one of the other events. This is a 5-day festival of racing, starting with the Pure Stock 50 on Wednesday and culminating in the Snowball Derby on Sunday afternoon. Winner of that race takes home $20,000.

This is such a tradition in the racing community that NASCAR moved its annual year-end banquet to not conflict with the event.