HOMESTEAD, FL - NOVEMBER 18: William Byron, driver of the #9 Liberty University Chevrolet, and Rick Hendrick celebrate with the trophy in Victory Lane after placing third and winning the NASCAR XFINITY Series Championship during the NASCAR XFINITY Series Championship Ford EcoBoost 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 18, 2017 in Homestead, Florida. (Photo by Chris Trotman/Getty Images)

NASCAR will give out a bunch of awards to well-deserving drivers this weekend


The season-ending awards banquet for NASCAR's Xfinity Series and Camping World Truck Series will be in Charlotte on Saturday from 5-10 p.m. ET in the Crown Ballroom at the Charlotte Convention Center.

The banquet has been held in Miami on the Monday immediately following the season in recent years, but they decided to move it to be closer to the home base of most teams.

NASCAR senior vice president and chief marketing officer Jill Gregory told that having it in Charlotte should result in an even bigger event to honor the drivers and teams.

"Hosting the awards in Charlotte provides an opportunity to honor these series' champions in a year-end, week-long celebration of their own," Gregory said. "This will allow for broader participation by the entire industry -- teams, partners and fans alike -- and promises to be an even bigger event that honors our deserved champions."


Related: Year in Review: The Xfinity Series gave us a glimpse of NASCAR's future

A banquet will be held the night before to honor drivers in other series, including the K&N Pro Series East and West and the various Whelen series.

William Byron was the Xfinity Series champion, and Christopher Bell won the Truck Series. It was the first championship for each driver in their respective series.

Championship owners and playoff drivers will also be honored for each series. Kyle Busch Motorsports won in the Truck Series, while Team Penske won in the Xfinity Series.


The Xfinity playoff drivers included Byron, Elliott Sadler, Justin Allgaier, Daniel Hemric, Ryan Reed, Brennan Poole, Brendan Gaughan, Jeremy Clements, Blake Koch, Cole Custer, Michael Annett and Matt Tifft.

The Truck Series playoff drivers included Bell, Austin Cindric, Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton, Ben Rhodes, Chase Briscoe, Kaz Grala and John Hunter Nemechek.