Advertisement
Kyle Busch took a huge risk by doing this after his win at Bristol Matt Sullivan/Getty Images
BRISTOL, TN - AUGUST 19: Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 M&M's Caramel Toyota, celebrates in victory lane after winning the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on August 19, 2017 in Bristol, Tennessee. (Photo by Matt Sullivan/Getty Images)

It seems that Kyle Busch took a huge risk following his victory at Bristol.

We’ve all seen this by now, the picture or video of Busch standing on his car with a broom and “sweeping” after his third victory in a week.

Turns out that could have had serious consequences. While it’s not against the rules for a driver to stand on his car after a race, it is ill-advised. as explained in Motorsport:

There is no rule per se regarding drivers standing on any part of their car in Victory Lane or during post-race celebrations. However, what NASCAR did say is that those actions would not be considered a viable excuse if the car subsequently failed inspection. So, if Kyle Busch had done that, and his car then failed inspection, claiming he was only celebrating would not reduce or eliminate any penalty received.

It didn’t come to that, but it would have been something, huh?

Author placeholder image About the author:

Stories You Might Like