The Verizon IndyCar series will not be making a stop at Mexico’s Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez in 2018. Series CEO Mark Miles had this to say:

“IndyCar is invested in the process of putting together the right deal with a partner we are certain can deliver this race. We are not at the point where we can finalize a contract for the 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series season and felt that we couldn’t delay the decision any longer, in fairness to our teams, manufacturers and other stakeholders who need time to properly prepare for an event of such magnitude.”

This finalizes next year’s schedule at 17 rounds, and leaves early August open for teams to prepare for four races in the following five weeks. Miles is hopeful Indy will return to Mexico and added this according to

“IndyCar appreciates the rich racing history in Mexico and we would like to be part of that once again,” he added. “We will keep working with the intent of making an INDYCAR event in Mexico City a reality in the future.”

The 2018 season will start on March 11 at St. Petersburg, and end on Sept. 16 at Sonoma Raceway.

IndyCar finalizes 2018 schedule and it has one notable omission chilangocom/Instagram
Alex Palmeri About the author:
Alex Palmeri graduated with an Associates in Automotive Technology and started his career with Mercedes-Benz as an apprentice and shortly after a Master Technician. Currently Alex works as shop foreman in a large fleet repair facility. Aside from writing his automotive passion is very diverse. Alex’s car collection consists of ...Read more
View More Articles

Engaging Car News, Reviews, and Content You Need to See - alt_driver Studio

Stories You Might Like