NASCAR Camping World Truck Series crowns its champion

Christopher Bell edged out last year's champion Johnny Sauter to take the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regular season title at Chicagoland Speedway.

Bell, according to, earned the title in part by winning 4 of the 16 races this season. This is his first title.

This means Bell will lead the field heading into the postseason next weekend at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway.  Ben Rhodes eaned the final spot in the playoffs ahead of Ryan Truex by virtue of a tie-breaker of best finish of season. Rhodes had a second-place finish at Pocono, Truex a third-place.

So this is what field looks like:

Christopher Bell, No. 4 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota: 2,040 points
Johnny Sauter, No. 21 GMS Racing Chevrolet: 2,025 points
John Hunter Nemechek, No. 8 NEMCO Motorsports Chevrolet: 2,014 points
Matt Crafton, No. 88 ThorSport Racing Toyota: 2,014 points
Chase Briscoe, No. 29 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford: 2,009 points
Austin Cindric, No. 19 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford: 2,007 points
Ben Rhodes, No. 27 ThorSport Racing Toyota: 2,007 points
Kaz Grala, No. 33 GMS Racing Chevrolet: 2,005 points