Photo credit: Getty Images

Xfinity results at Sonoma: Shane van Gisbergen wins

Shane van Gisbergen is now a two-time winner in the NASCAR Xfinity Series after capturing Saturday's race at Sonoma.

Van Gisbergen, who won last weekend's race at Portland, led a race-high 32 laps. He overcame mechanical and voltage issues before holding off multiple challengers. He then did his celebratory drift around the entire course.

Sheldon Creed crossed the finish line second. Sam Mayer, Austin Green, and Austin Hill rounded out the top five. Green, in particular, posted a career-best finish in what was only his third Xfinity start.

MORE: van Gisbergen wins, full Sonoma results

The final restart of the race was chaos. Hill was the control car while van Gisbergen was on his inside. As they went into Turn 2, van Gisbergen got loose in the dirt. He collided with Hill and sent the No. 21 wide, taking the lead in the process.

The final laps of the race featured van Gisbergen hitting his marks while Mayer tried to chase him down. The JR Motorsports driver made moves early, but he lost time sliding in Turn 2. Mayer ultimately fell to third after Creed passed him in Turn 11.

The race was calm during the first two stages, but the tenor changed at the start of the final stage. Chandler Smith spun in Turn 2 after contact from Jeb Burton. This kicked off a multi-car crash that collected several drivers.

The list included Ty Gibbs, Josh Williams, Brandon Jones, Ed Jones, Jesse Love, Thomas Annunziata, Josh Bilicki, Kyle Weatherman, Preston Pardus, and Parker Retzlaff.

Gibbs had won stage 2 with a dominant car, but he fell to the middle of the pack after a slow pit stop caused by a tire issue. This put him in the thick of the on-track incident. The crash ended his day.

Stage 1: Shane van Gisbergen stayed out and won the first stage while Ty Gibbs gave up second to flip the stage. He locked up a playoff point. AJ Allmendinger, Austin Hill, Parker Kligerman, John Hunter Nemechek, Chandler Smith, Sammy Smith, Anthony Alfredo, Parker Retzlaff, and Riley Herbst all scored stage points.

Stage 2: Ty Gibbs won stage 2. Shane van Gisbergen was going to pit early, but there was confusion on his team's pit box. Van Gisbergen stayed out and finished second. Jesse Love, Sheldon Creed, Cole Custer, Chandler Smith, John Hunter Nemechek, Parker Kligerman, Justin Allgaier, and Parker Retzlaff all scored stage points.

Sam Mayer, Austin Hill, AJ Allmendinger, and Austin Green all stopped before the end of stage 2. Sammy Smith had to pit early due to a mechanical issue. He ultimately took the No. 8 to the garage.

Next: Xfinity teams return to action on June 15 at Iowa Speedway (3:30 p.m. ET on USA). This will be the first Xfinity race at Iowa since 2019.