Photo credit: Getty Images

Joey Logano wins the Cup pole at Sonoma Raceway

Joey Logano will lead the NASCAR Cup Series field to the green flag Sunday afternoon at Sonoma Raceway.

Logano won the pole Saturday with a lap of 97.771 mph. This is his 31st career pole and his second at Sonoma Raceway. The last time Logano won the pole at the California road course was in 2011 when he drove for Joe Gibbs Racing.

Tyler Reddick qualified second with a lap of 97.661 mph. This is his second consecutive front-row start at Sonoma.

MORE: Logano wins pole, full qualifying results

Ryan Blaney (97.566 mph), Chase Elliott (97.562 mph), and Kyle Larson (96.821 mph) all qualified inside the top five.

William Byron (97.518 mph), Daniel Suarez (97.513 mph), Alex Bowman (97.42 mph), Ross Chastain (97.39 mph), and Ty Gibbs (97.113 mph) rounded out the top 10.

Larson had an incident during the final round of qualifying. He slid in Turn 4 and hit the tire barrier with the left side of his car.

Larson was able to continue with his lap, but he tore up the rear fender of the No. 5. He ultimately went back for a second lap after his team examined the damage.

Martin Truex Jr., defending winner at Sonoma, missed the final round of qualifying. He will line up 21st for Sunday's race as he seeks his fifth career win at the road course.

Cam Waters, making his Cup debut at Sonoma, qualified 31st in the No. 60 RFK Racing Ford. Fellow Supercars driver Will Brown qualified 24th in the No. 33 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet while preparing for his Cup debut.

The green flag for Sunday's Cup race will wave at 3:50 p.m. ET. James Murray of the Impractical Jokers will give the command to start engines at 3:38 p.m. ET. Fox will provide coverage for the race while closing out the Fox Sports portion of the schedule.