Photo credit: Nigel Kinrade Photography

Chicago Xfinity race results: Shane van Gisbergen wins

Shane van Gisbergen has won for the third time in his rookie season after a strong finish on the streets of Chicago.

The New Zealand native led 14 laps and held off Ty Gibbs on the final two laps of the race. Kyle Larson, Parker Kligerman, and Jesse Love rounded out the top five.

MORE: van Gisbergen wins, full Chicago results

MORE: Xfinity driver points

A caution for Leland Honeyman Jr. set up a restart with three laps to go in the race. Gibbs and Love were on the front row with van Gisbergen and Sam Mayer on the second row.

Love got a great restart, but so did van Gisbergen, who moved past Gibbs. The three-time Supercars champion took over second place and then immediately began putting pressure on Love. Van Gisbergen was able to take back the lead without any issues and then he went on to win his third consecutive road course race.

Stage 1: Shane van Gisbergen won stage 1 after taking the lead back from Kyle Larson on the final lap. Ty Gibbs, Connor Mosack, Cole Custer, AJ Allmendinger, Jesse Love, Austin Hill, Sam Mayer, and Parker Kligerman rounded out the top 10. Kligerman started from the rear of the field after an engine change but still scored a stage point.

Van Gisbergen led eight of the first 15 laps. Larson led the other seven as the two drivers traded the lead multiple times.

"Great race at the start with Kyle," van Gisbergen told NBC Sports after the race. "He was really good on the restarts, and we made our car better for that second set of tires. Ooh, that was fun at the end passing all those guys, racing with everyone."

The first stage of the race featured some on-track drama between Riley Herbst and Sheldon Creed. Herbst ran Creed into the wall and then Creed repaid the favor by spinning Herbst. Both drivers were able to continue in the race.

Cole Custer received a penalty during the stage break. He passed Ty Gibbs, who was slower than the rest of the field, after entering pit road. Gibbs said after the race that he had made a mistake and put the car into first gear entering pit road.

Stage 2: AJ Allmendinger crashed into the tire barrier on Lap 23. This brought out the caution and allowed the leaders to make their first pit stop of the day. The drivers who pitted at the end of stage 1 were able to stay out.

As a result, Austin Hill won stage 2. Sammy Smith, Jesse Love, Justin Allgaier, Sheldon Creed, Ty Gibbs, Parker Kligerman, Sam Mayer, John Hunter Nemechek, and Shane van Gisbergen rounded out the top 10.

Notable: Joe Gibbs Racing had multiple engine issues Saturday in Chicago. Creed and John Hunter Nemechek both had to start from the rear of the field after their teams changed engines. Chandler Smith only completed five laps of the race before his engine expired. Only Gibbs was able to complete the race.

Next: Xfinity teams return to action on Saturday, July 13, at Pocono Raceway. USA Network will broadcast the race at 3 p.m. ET.