Photo credit: Getty Images

Allmendinger, Chastain, Nemechek pulling double duty at Iowa

Three NASCAR drivers will pull double duty this weekend as two national series take on Iowa Speedway.

AJ Allmendinger, who drives full-time in Xfinity, will compete in the inaugural Cup race at Iowa on Sunday, June 16. Cup drivers Ross Chastain and John Hunter Nemechek will take on the Xfinity race on Saturday, June 15.

MORE: Iowa Speedway Xfinity entry list

MORE: Cup entry list

Allmendinger will drive for Kaulig Racing on both days at the .875-mile paved track. He will be in his No. 16 Chevrolet during the Xfinity race and then he will return to the No. 16 Chevrolet for the Cup race one week after finishing sixth at Sonoma.

Nemechek will return to Joe Gibbs Racing for the Xfinity race. He will drive the No. 20 for the seventh time this season. He will then make his scheduled start on Sunday for Legacy Motor Club.

Chastain, who drives full-time for Trackhouse Racing in Cup, will reunite with DGM Racing for the Xfinity race. He will drive the No. 92 Chevrolet for the first time this season, and he will make his eighth start at Iowa.

Chastain and Nemechek both have experience competing at Iowa Speedway. Chastain has a pair of fourth-place finishes at the short track. He also has a runner-up finish in the Truck Series.

Nemechek, for comparison, has four Xfinity starts at Iowa with three top-10 finishes and two top-fives. He also has five Truck starts with one win.

Cup teams have never competed at Iowa, but there are several drivers on the entry list for both races with experience competing at the short track. Many have celebrated wins.

The drivers on the preliminary Cup and Xfinity entry lists with Iowa wins (either Truck or Xfinity) are Brett Moffitt, Erik Jones, Christopher Bell, Austin Dillon, William Byron, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Chase Briscoe, Brad Keselowski, Ryan Preece, Justin Allgaier, Ryan Blaney, Chris Buescher, and Kyle Busch.

Stenhouse, in particular, won three consecutive Xfinity races at Iowa in 2011-12. Keselowski won three Xfinity races at the track. His first win was in 2009 and his next two were in 2013-14.